The Counselling cum Allotment of seats under Chief Minister’s Merit Scholarship Scheme

Gangtok, April 9 (IPR): The Counselling cum Allotment of seats under Chief Minister’s Merit Scholarship Scheme organised by the Education Department was held at Tashi Namgyal Senior Secondary School, today.
Hon’ble Minister for Education Department Shri Kunga Nima Lepcha graced the function as the Chief Guest. The programme had the presence of Hon’ble Advisor Shri M.P. Subba, Additional Chief Secretary, Education Department, Shri G.P Upadhyaya, Officials from Education Department, School Heads, teachers from different schools of the State, selected students under Chief Minister Merit Scholarship Scheme and their parents and guardians.
The Chief Guest in his address congratulated all the fifty-five students who had achieved this merit scholarship and said that it is a golden opportunity provided by the Government for students to study in reputed schools within the State. He emphasized the importance of education in every endeavor of an individual. He said that the Merit Awards will be a huge motivation for all other students in Sikkim to perform better in their academics. In conclusion, the Hon’ble Minister appreciated the efforts taken by the parents, the school heads, teachers and the authorities in supporting these children achieve this success.
Additional Chief Secretary, Shri G.P Upadhyaya informed that a total of fifty students from different Schools are being selected under this Chief Minister Merit Scholarship along with five additional seats from the Dzongu area to give more facilities to the children from the remote areas and these five will be allotted seats in Tashi Namgyal Academy School, Gangtok.
He added that the selected students will be allotted seats in the following Schools:
1. Tashi Namgyal Academy,(East)
2. St. Xavier’s School, Pakyong (East)
3. St. Joseph Convent, Martam (East)
4. Palzor Namgyal Girls School (East)
5. Namchi Public School (South)
6. Manjushree Public School, Temi(South)
7. Don Bosco, Malbasey(West)
8. St. Mary’s Convent, Geyzing(West)
He further informed that Palzor Namgyal Girls School and Manjushree Public School have been included from this year. He said that the motive behind the Chief Minister’s Merit Scholarship Scheme is to ensure rich academic and infrastructural supports to the deserving students which will further encourage other students in the State as well.
The programme concluded with the vote of thanks proposed by the Additional Director, Textbook Exam and Scholarship, Smt Suchita Subba.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 50 = 56