Namchi celebrates 205th Birth Anniversary of Adikavi Bhanubhakta Acharya

Namchi, 13th July (IPR): The 205th Birth Anniversary of Aadi Kavi Bhanu Bhakta Acharya organized by District Administration, South in collaboration with Dakshin Sikkim Sahitya Sammelan was observed with much enthusiasm and exuberance at Community Hall, Namchi today.

The event had the presence of Mr. Dup Tshering Lepcha, Founder Chairman of Dr. Shova Kanti Thegim Lepcha Memorial Trust as the Chief Guest. The program also had the attendance of spouse of HCM, Mrs.Krishna Maya Rai, DC (South) Mr.Ragul K. ADC (South) Mr. Satyen Pradhan, Professor Sikkim University Mr. Udai Chhetri alongside District Government officials, literary figures, dignitaries and students at large.

The day’s event commenced with offering of prayers and garland before the statue of late Bhanu Bhakta Acharya at Bhanu Salik by the Chief Guest and dignitaries present followed by the Sobha Yatra.

Addressing the program, Chief Guest Mr. Dup Tshering Lepcha spelled out the importance of observing statewide Bhanu Jayanti celebrations at such a grand scale. Citing Aadi Kavi Bhanu Bhakta Acharya as an inspirational figure, Mr. Lepcha remarked that since Bhanu Bhakta Acharya laid the foundation of Nepali literature he is revered as a significant literary figure in the Nepali community globally. He urged the present and the coming generations to draw inspiration from Aadi Kavi’s immense contribution to the Nepali literature and make their community and state proud in various spheres. He also proposed a structure on the lines of a Literary club for deliberations and exchange of literary ideas for the benefit of the members of Dakshin Sikkim Sahitya Sammelan. Additionally, he urged the students present to inculcate a habit of reading Nepali literature and infuse their knowledge to further promote the status of Nepali literature.

On the occasion, the Shiva Kumar Rai Smriti Purashkar 2019 was bestowed to Mr. Kribu Sayami and Agam Singh Tamang Pratibha Purashkar to Mr. Suresh Subba ‘Biyogi’ with a shawl, Memento and a cash prize of rupees twelve thousand and six thousand respectively by the Chief Guest for their immense contribution in the field of Nepali language.

Six literary enthusiasts namely Dr. Lobsang Lama, Mr S.K.Rai, Mrs. Indira Stephen, Mr. Churamani Dahal, Mr. Santa Pradhan and Mr. Mohan Das Rai were feliciated for their dedications and contributions in various fields.

The day’s event saw students from various schools participating in Ramayan Path, Kavita Path (poem recitation) and Nepali Lok Nritya.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

58 + = 66