Press Release from DIET, Gangtok-Education Department

Gangtok, March 28: The 4th Teacher’s Conference 2023-24 on ‘Sharing the Findings of Action Research on Foundational Literacy & Numeracy’ concluded today.
The two-day conference was organised by the District Institute of Education and Training, DIET, Gangtok, at SCERT auditorium hall.
Mr. Sonam Denzongpa, Principal Director, Education Department, Gangtok, was the chief guest of the Inaugural programme. Shri Milan Subba, State Project Director, Samagra Shiksha, Education Department, Gangtok, was the Chief Guest of the Valedictory programme.
Also present were Dr. Rabin Chettri, Director, SCERT as Special Guest, Ms. Tshering Lhamu Bhutia , Dr Shanti Ram Adhikari, Jt. Director SCERT, Mr. Tshering Wangdi Bhutia, Principal, DIET, Heads of different schools, officials from Education Department, faculty and non-academic members of SCERT & DIET.
During the two-day conference, 28 teacher participants from different schools introduced the case studies they experimented with during their classroom teaching experience with students concerning Action Research on Foundational Literacy and Numeracy through Power-Point presentations followed by discussions between the teachers and other proficient attending the programme in which various observations and suggestions were made.
Teacher Participants from Gangtok, Mangan and Pakyong districts in the Conference included the following:
Ningwa Hangma Subba, Mulukey SS
Mingma Lhamu Lepcha, Rhenock SSS
Anjali Chettri, Government SSS Machong
Meena Pradhan, Aritar SS
Bindu Chettri, Rolep SSS
Chyamit Lepcha, South Regu SS
Lendup Kalden Bhutia, Barapathng SS
Nilam Gurung, Rangpo SSS
Bimla Tamang, Zitlang JHSQ
Nirmala Biswakarma, Sajong JHS
Phur Khandu Sherpa, Upper Sumin JHS
Radha Krishna Sharma, Bhasmey JHS
Snow Lepcha, Hee Gyathang SSS
Pemkit Lepcha, Lingtyang PS
Karmit Lepcha, Namprick JHS
Lakmit Lepcha, Salim Pakyel JHS
Pammy Rawat, Mangan SSS
Daday Lepcha, Singhik SS
Urmilla Limboo, Mangshilla SSS
Bina Sharma, Singbel JHS
Tashi Zangpo Lassopa, Tumin SS
Nirmala Sharma, Singtam SSS
Amit Subba, Sirwani SS
Sudeep Sharma, Sakyong Namgaythang JHS
Lazay Ongmu Lepcha, Luing SSS
Deeki Tshering Lepcha, Rey Mindu JHS
Dinesh Gautam, Adampool JHS
Tika Maya Subba, Lower Burtuk JHS
Laxmi Bhujel, Lower Burtuk JHS
During the event, the dignitaries launched action research compilation 2022-23, ‘Edulight’, an annual bulletin and felicitated 28 teacher presenters with a certificate and a memento.
Mr. Roshan Dahal, Principal, GSSS, Luing and Ms. Choden Pulger, Headmistress, GJHS, Lower Burtuk and Mr. Y N Yadav , Rey Mindu PS were felicitated for their active participation in the technical session.
Chairpersons of the 4th Teachers Conference 2023-24, Mr. Rajiv Philip, Ms. Larissa Lepcha, Dr. Chandrani Chhettri and Dr. Mahindra Tamang, were also felicitated during the event.
Mr. Sonam Denzongpa congratulated the Institute for keeping up the legacy of the practice of conducting the Teachers Conference since 2018. He appreciated the collaborative effort of the DIET Faculty and the teachers who play an integral role in raising the standard of education.
Mr. Milan Subba, SPD, Samagra Shiksha, in his address, elaborated upon the importance of the role of teachers in elevating the standards of education. He congratulated the Institute and the teacher participants for the 4th Teachers Conference.
Dr. Rabin Chettri, Director SCERT, in his address, highlighted the significance of organising this type of Conference for teachers. He highlighted the importance of disposition and attitude in the wholesome development of students.
In her Opening Remarks, Ms. Tshering Lhamu Bhutia, Joint Director, SCERT, stated that the Conference was akin to a celebration of the efforts of the teachers and the Institute.
Shri Tshering Wangdi Bhutia, Principal DIET, briefly shared the background of the Conference which is also considered as one the best practice of the institute. He informed that the objective of the programme is to provide a platform for teachers to learn, share and discuss their innovative ideas regarding teaching methodologies. He also highlighted the key initiatives undertaken by the Institute. Further, he informed that Samagra Shiksha guidelines & NIPUN implementation guidelines have envisaged DIET to carry out collaborative action research to solve many problems related to the teaching-learning process and to facilitate the Continuous Professional Development of Teachers.
The Master of Ceremony for the Inaugural Session was Ms. Karma Doma Kaleon, Senior Lecturer and the vote of thanks was proposed by Ms. Durga Shrestha, Lecturer, DIET. The Master of Ceremony for the Valedictory programme was Ms. Tenzing Norzom Bhutia, Lecturer, which was concluded with a vote of thanks proposed by Ms. Tashi Doma Acushla, Senior Lecturer, DIET.
Ms. Aruna Pradhan & Tenzing Norzom Bhutia, Lecturers, DIET were the overall co-ordinators of the Conference.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 63 = 70