State-Level Celebration of 208th Bhanu Jayanti

Gangtok, July 13 (IPR): Awards, literary deliberations and cultural presentations marked the State-Level Celebration of 208th Bhanu Jayanti here at Manan Kendra today.
The event was graced by Chief Minister Shri Prem Singh Tamang as the chief guest. The function was presided over by Minister Shri B.S. Panth, the Chairman of the Celebration Committee.
On the occasion, noted litterateur Shri K.N. Sharma was decorated with the prestigious ‘Bhanu Purashkar 2022’. The brief biography of Shri K.N. Sharma was recited by senior journalist Shri Bhim Rawat.
Likewise, former Member of Parliament and litterateur Smt Dil Kumari Bhandari was awarded the ‘Bhanu Purashkar’ for the year 2021. The brief biography of Smt Dil Kumari Bhandari was recited by Chairperson, OBC Board, Ms. Pavitra Bhandari.
It may be recalled that the Award could not be presented in 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
The programme also saw awards and felicitations to individuals who have made notable contributions to language, literature, art and culture.
Shri O.T. Lepcha was awarded the Bhasha Gaurav Samman for his consistent service towards the preservation and conservation of Lepcha language and literature.
Similarly, Shri Dorjee Rinchen Bhutia was awarded the Bhasha Gaurav Samman for his consistent service towards the preservation and conservation of Bhutia language and literature.
On the occasion, Padma Shri Khandu Wangchuk Bhutia, noted Thangka Artist was awarded a felicitation letter for his relentless service for over three decades, and for bringing laurels to the State.
Similarly, the ‘Seva Shri Samman’ was presented to the following noted individuals who have made a distinct mark in their field of work:
1. Dr. Udai Chettri – Bhasha Seva Shri Samman
2. Shri Santosh Kumar Rai – Sahitya Seva Shri Samman
3. Shri Dilli Prasad Adhikari – Sahitya Seva Shri Samman
4. Shri Purna Subba – Sangeet Seva Shri Samman
5. Smt Rupa Tamang – Natya Seva Shri Samman
6. Shri Narad Adhikari – Natya Seva Shri Samman
7. Shri Kamal Mukhia – Patrakarita Seva Shri Samman
8. Smt Deepa Rai – Chitrakarita Seva Shri Samman
9. Ms Komal Gurung – Nritya Seva Shri Samman
The annual publication of Nepali Sahitya Parishad ‘Bhanu Smarika’ was also released on the occasion by the chief guest. A few other publications were also released.
Smt Dil Kumari Bhandari, the recipient of the Bhanu Purashkar 2021 in her acceptance speech expressed her gratitude to the Nepali Sahitya Parishad for conferring the prestigious award on her. She said that it was a motivation for her to work for further development of the Nepali language.
Smt. Bhandari lauded the support and encouragement provided by Chief Minister Shri Prem Singh Tamang towards the development and propagation of Nepali language and literature. Smt Bhandari stressed on the need to further strengthen, protect and preserve the language, culture and tradition through individual and collective efforts.
Recipient of Bhanu Purashkar 2022, Shri K.N Sharma in his speech thanked the Nepali Sahitya Parishad for honouring him with the prestigious award. He also thanked the State Government and the Chief Minister for creating an environment for the growth of literary culture in the State. Shri Sharma also shared his insights on the evolution of the Nepali language and shared his experiences as a litterateur.
Chief Minister Shri Prem Singh Tamang in his address paid rich tribute to Adi Kavi Bhanu Bhakta Acharya on his birth anniversary. He remembered the scholar as the torch bearer of Nepali literature who also sowed the seed of education through his work ‘Ramayan’.
The Chief Minister congratulated Nepali Sahitya Parishad for organizing the programme in a befitting manner with active participation from all quarters. He also extended his greetings to all the invitees from other States and neighbouring countries.
He congratulated all the awardees and the participants of the traditional and cultural events and tableau earlier in the day.
Chief Minister Shri Tamang stressed on the need to preserve local culture, language, customs and attire.
Earlier, the programme began with the welcome address by President, Nepali Sahitya Parishad, Shri Rudra Poudyal.
Students of Deorali Girls Senior Secondary School who were shortlisted through various stages of the Inter-School competition, performed the Ramayan Path (Recitation). In the open category, Shri Krishna Dhungel performed the Ramayan Path.
Likewise, Shri Passang Tshering Tamang of Sichey Senior Secondary School who was shortlisted in the inter-school competition, presented a Nepali poem before the audience. Shri Krishna Dhungel from the open category also recited a poem.
The programme also had a cultural integration dance by Ujjwal Kala Kendra, Deorali, and a Nepali folk dance by Dynamic Flickers Dance Academy, Ranipool.
The programme concluded with the prize distribution, and vote of thanks proposed by Vice President, Nepali Sahitya Parishad, Shri Hari Dhungel

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 86 = 88