Hon’ble Minister Shri L. N Sharma attends the Second Jorethang Premier Badminton League

Jorethang, 15th February (IPR) : The Second Jorethang Premier Badminton League (JPBL) was commenced, today. This league has been organised by Badminton Association of Jorethang (BAJ) in co-ordination with Sikkim Krantikari Morcha Sports Wing and Labour Front under the aegis of Badminton Association Of Sikkim at Badminton Court Jorethang today. Hon’ble Minister for Agriculture, Horticulture and Animal Husbandry, Veterinary Services Shri Lok Nath Sharma graced the occasion as the chief guest and officially declared the tournament open.
The event also had presence of badminton teams franchise owners namely, Team Dallam Express owned by Hon’ble Minister for Power and Energy Departments Shri M.N Sherpa, Team Soreng Chakung David Warriors owned by Hon’ble MLA Soreng Chakung Shri Aditya Golay and Political Secretary to the HCM Shri Jacob Khaling, Team Poklok Warriors owned by Shri R. B Tamang, Team Red Panda G.M.T.S owned by Shri G.M Gurung and Shri Tshering Sherpa, Team United Sikkim Shuttlers owned by Shri Tarun Deep Rai who was represented by Smt. Anjana Rai, Shri Rajan Kumar and Shri Bhaichung Bhutia and Team Salghari Zoom Blockers owned by Smt. Sunita Gazmer.
Also present amongst others were SDPO (Jorethang) Shri S. K Shrestha, President of BAJ Shri. Jigmee Namgyal, BAJ executive members amidst a huge gathering of sporting enthusiasts from all over the state.

Addressing, the Hon’ble Minister Shri LN Sharma extended his best wishes to all the participants as well as the owners for the tournament. Shri Lok Nath Sharma also congratulated the BAJ for successfully adopting the Sikkim’s first franchise based sporting event for second consecutive year as such event provides a platform to nurture the local talents and to showcase their skills which can further help in bringing laurels to the state.
Mentioning amongst the team owners names including notable sports persons Shri Tarun Deep Rai and Bhaichung Bhutia, he applauded their efforts to bring sports as integral part of society. He highlighted the Hon’ble Chief Minister Shri Prem Singh’s prime interest and initiatives for the development of sports in the state. Further, he also convinced youngsters of the incredible scope of sports.

It maybe mentioned here that a total of 66 players are inducted into 6 team, comprising of 11 players in each team who were selected through an open auction. Wherein, these 6 teams will complete in league match then best out of the teams will head to the knock-out finals which is set to be held tomorrow.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 12 = 13